SURREPTITIOUS

This is my autobiography with a twist of fictional powers! enjoy!

____________________________________________________________________________________________

I was looking  into the beautiful moon whispering secrets, doubt and agony only for her to comprehend. I told her about how difficult it has been, living without feeling anything at all.  I wonder if  I was the only person who was unfortunate enough to perceive this. Looking back, I never had the best life while masking it all with a fake smile.  These thoughts make me feel all the pain I tried to endure and I can’t help but to tear up a little bit. I remind myself the reason why I’m on my roof, talking to our beloved Luna just to get some kind of tranquility and that’s when I decided to divert my attention to this beautiful view. Just the moon lighting up the universe with the help of the stars. Sending my wish to the stars that if only they could stop the time, and let me breathe. I’m exhausted and I don’t want to give in from all the temptation the world has to offer. When the night turned into day, I have to give this up. I have to face everything and sadly I can’t keep on running away from them. With that thought in mind, I let myself fall into a deep slumber.

 

I kind of feel indifferent, with all the people around me. If I disappear right now, where will I go? Will people notice that I’m gone? Or would I be just another face? I frequently thought of going away for good, as early as I was 8 years old, but I never really succeeded, I wouldn’t survive on my own. If I can, trust me, I would do anything. My parents have no clue about all the things that’s been going on with me. It’s a good thing, I think . It’s not like they’d understand it anyway.

 

“Hey! Stop thinking! I can hear your mind working from the end of the halls.” Kirsten smiled mockingly.

 

I rolled my eyes at her then I hugged her tightly “stop! You caught me too many times.” I hid my face on her neck in embarrassment

 

“It would be great if  you’d act like a normal person. You know, think without walking.“ she teased

 

“uuugh, you know I can’t think without walking Kirsten.” I pushed her away and pout

 

“Then don’t think! We better go, ma’am, might be a little early today.” She hold and dragged me with her, running towards our classroom .

 

I always enjoyed  being with her. Kirsten is the kind of person who is  free spirited, goofy and sassy, I mean being with her is interesting in so many levels.  We’ve been friends for a very long time, actually we grow up together, it explains why we have such a close relationship. I trust her, but not too much. I’m a little guarded in a way and I think I couldn’t tell her.

 

“I’m a witch, I’m a witch! I don’t want to be a witch” I sobbed. I want to trash the whole place but I just can’t. It was in the middle of the night and I don’t want them to see me like this. I barely see them, the last thing I want is for them to see me like this and assume that I’m being dramatic.

 

“What’s the matter, Liz? Do you want to talk about it?” and when I look at where the voice came from, it was Luna. She smiled at me and sat beside me.

 

“I think you shouldn’t be here goddess. With all due respect, I really don’t think you should waste your time here.” I said while still looking at the stars.

 

“You think I wasn’t listening to every word you uttered, Liz? I can’t just watch over you from above and not be concerned. That’s impossible.” she explained then  she proceed to embrace me.

 

“I don’t understand goddess, why did you choose me? I don’t want to live like this.” I stutter, she proceeds to loose her grip around me but I hugged her tighter. Right now, she’s the only one I have and I don’t have the heart to  just let go.

 

“I didn’t choose you Eliza because I want you to suffer, I hope you know that. I chose you because since you were little I saw something special about you.” She told me

 

“Whatever you saw goddess, it was gone now and I don’t know how to bring it back. Are you sure you don’t want to take it back?”

 

“Listen, you are wonderful, okay? Who knows, you might be able to save the world sweetie. Don’t be afraid, stop being afraid. You can use this, this is not a curse. It’s a gift from me to you.” After she voiced those words she suddenly disappear in thin air.

I’m still skeptical about using this sorcery, I mean it’s possible to hurt anyone with this kind of … whatever this is.

 

“ELIZA! Uuuuuugh! Jess! I think she is already deaf! I’ve been trying to get her attention for like 100000x times!” Kirsten whines

 

“Geeez Kirsten, why you gotta be so needy? Can you give her a break?” Jess rolled her eyes, but unfortunately Kirsten keeps on poking me.

 

“Kirs—“ before I could finish my sentence a loud BANG interrupted me

 

“What was that?” Queen finally joined our conversation .

“I think something blew up.” Erika said with frightening gaze.

“Girls, we should escape before it gets worse, Liz?” Jess grab my arm and almost drag me to the escape route but I twist my arm until she let’s go and I run in the opposite direction

“What the hell are you doing?! Liz?! LIZA! Come back!” Jess shouted, but I couldn’t just abandon my other classmates, I’d be damned if I leave them in danger.

Currently I am standing in the middle of the building where the laboratory located. I heard a lot of screaming.

“Liz, you can do this okay? Deep breathes” I focused on what magic I want to occur

“Aerios Vykranos!”  I utter those words nothing happened. I did it over and over again, but it doesn’t work.

 

“You have to believe in yourself, from there you can get your strength.” Luna’s voice keeps on repeating In my head.

 

“Okay, I can do this.” I closed my eyes and “Aeros Vykranos!” I opened my eyes then I saw the a passage way cleared down by air.

 

I entered every classroom and saved unconscious students due to fire inhalation with the help of my magic spells. I was able to control their bodies and walk them out of the burning building and go to a much safer spot.

 

I heard the sound of a fire truck coming to our school and I run away from the scene. I feel myself getting weaker and weaker every step I’m taking, until I fell down.

 

When I wake up I noticed that I was in a foreign ambiance.

“Finally, you’re awake!” A stranger said enthusiastically

“Umm. Who are you?” I look at her with confusion

“I’m Ingrid!” She smiled

“Where am I? Where did you take me? I swear I couldn’t give you anything!” I said while panicking

“Calm down! I won’t hurt you”

“Then why did you take me?”

“I was sent here by Luna. She wants me to tell you that you have finally found your purpose. She’s so proud of you.”

“It doesn’t answer any of my questions Ingrid. It doesn’t make me secured.”

“We have the same tattoo on our neck. “ She put her neck on the other side and showed me her tattoo.

“What does it mean?” I asked

“It means you’re not alone since I’am with  you Liza. I’m also a witch. The only catch is that I lived far away. I fly with my broom just to get to you.”

I looked at her with disbelief

“How can trust you Ingrid. I only met you recently.”

“Every time you might think that this is some kind of a curse. Look at this pendant and it will show you someone understands. Anyway, I have to get back to my family.”

“Thank you Ingrid. You have no idea how much this means to me.”

“I think I might have a clue. It’s a start Liza. With that power you can change the world. We both can” She smiled and fly with her magical broom.

 

After she left, I realized that being unique is no that that bad after all.

She’s right though rather than neglecting my unique abilities, I should use it for the greater good. This is the start of my epic journey as a teenage not-so-horrible-looking witch who will do anything she can to save the world.

 

“There you are! You got us worried Liz! Don’t do that, Okay?” Queen run up to me and hugged me tight.

“Liz!” the other girls showed up and joined our hug fest.

 

Oh, what an amazing world to be a witch.

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

